MLB offseason awards 2019

Rookie of the Year is an award given to an athlete judged most accomplished in the first season of their sport. The AL Rookie of the year went to Yordan Alvarez was a unanimous decision voted on by the league. Yordan Alvarez didn’t start his career until June where he played in 87 games as a DH (Designated Hitter) where he 27 Home Runs and 78 RBI’S. His OPS was the sixth highest by a player who is 22 years old or younger in the MLB ERA. NL Rookie was Pete (The Polar Bear) Alonso. He was also a unanimous decision but did 1 second place vote. He is the first rookie  in Major League history to lead the Majors in homeruns outright. Pete Alonso had 53 homeruns and won the 2019 Homerun Derby. 

The Manager of the Year Award goes to the most outstanding manager in the American League and the National League. The American League Manager of the year was Rocco Baldelli, a first year manager out of the Minnesota Twins Organization. Rocco Baldelli led the Twins to their first AL Central title and Division Series appearance since 2010. Baldelli is the seventh rookie manager to win at least 100 games in a regular season. National League Manager of the year is Mike Shildt who is the first Manger to win the award and did not play in the Majors. Mike Shildt is the manager of the St. Louis Cardinals. Mike Shildt lead the Cardinals to their first title since 2015. 

The CY Young award is given to the best pitcher from the American League and the National League. The Astros Justin Verlander won the award for the second time. He led the MLB with wins (21) and finished 2nd in the AL with a 2.58 ERA. He reached 300 strikeouts is a career for Verlander. The Mets Jacob Degrom won the National League Cy Young becoming the 11 player to win it Consecutive times. He led the National League in Strikeouts (255) while also ranking 2nd in ERA of a 2.43.

The most valuable player is awarded to the best player in the league for the American League and the National League or can be awarded for the most valuable player on that team. This year in the American League the MVP was Mike Trout Los Angeles Angels. Mike Trout won his 3rd MVP led the American League in on base percentage and slugging percentage. Mike Trout hit a career high in 45 homeruns and 104 RBI’S in 134 games this year. The NL MVP went to Cody Bellinger of the Los Angeles Dodgers. Bellinger had career highs in recorded career highs in runs (121), hits (170), doubles (34), homers (47), RBIs (115), walks (95) and stolen bases (15) with a .305/.406/.629 slash line. Bellinger broke the all time dodger record in homeruns and to add to his MVP year he added a gold glove for his defense in right field.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s